CATIE Statement on Reconciliation

With gratitude and respect, CATIE acknowledges that our work takes place on Indigenous land. CATIE’s office is situated on the traditional territories of the Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation, The Haudenosaunee, Six Nations and the Huron-Wendat, which is now home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit and Métis people today. We acknowledge that our outreach and education work is also carried out on Indigenous territories across the country.

The HIV and hepatitis C epidemics among Indigenous peoples in Canada are rooted in colonization, including the legacy of residential schools and the racism that continues to this day against First Nations, Inuit and Métis people.

As a country, we cannot respond to HIV and hepatitis C without addressing the underlying social determinants that place Indigenous people at greater risk of infection and poor health. To begin this process, we support the Calls to Action released by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. We also recognize the importance of the self-determination of Indigenous peoples as articulated in the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

As a non-Indigenous organization, we acknowledge our own privilege and role in the systems of colonization, and we strive to dismantle them. We are also committed to decolonizing our own work:

  • We are committed to an ongoing process of self-education to improve our awareness of Indigenous issues and to increase the cultural competence of our staff and board members
  • We embrace Two-Eyed Seeing, a theoretical framework that acknowledges and gives equal consideration to Indigenous and non-Indigenous views of health and knowledge
  • We are committed to always working in partnership with Indigenous peoples, and to consult and take their lead when working on their land and with their communities

CATIE has been promoting reconciliation in its thinking and actions over the last few years. It will continue to use its influence and leadership to promote these values to the communities it serves.

Déclaration de CATIE sur la réconciliation

Avec gratitude et respect, CATIE reconnaît que son travail s’effectue en terre autochtone. Le bureau de CATIE est situé dans les territoires traditionnels de la Première Nation des Mississaugas de New Credit, des Haudenosaunee, des Six Nations et des Hurons-Wendats, où vivent aujourd’hui de nombreuses et diverses personnes des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis. Nous reconnaissons que nos activités de proximité et d’éducation se déroulent également en territoires autochtones à travers le pays.

Les épidémies de VIH et d’hépatite C dans les populations autochtones du Canada sont enracinées dans la colonisation, y compris l’héritage des pensionnats et le racisme persistant à l’égard des personnes des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis.

En tant que pays, nous ne pouvons combattre le VIH et l’hépatite C sans répondre aux déterminants sociaux sous-jacents qui exposent les personnes autochtones à un risque accru d’infection et de mauvaise santé. Pour amorcer cette démarche, nous appuyons les Appels à l’action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada. Nous reconnaissons également l’importance de l’autodétermination des peuples autochtones telle qu’articulée dans la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

En tant qu’organisme non autochtone, nous reconnaissons notre privilège ainsi que notre rôle dans les systèmes de la colonisation, et nous nous efforçons de les démanteler. Nous nous sommes engagés à décoloniser notre travail :

  • Nous nous sommes engagés à un processus continu d’autoéducation afin de rehausser notre sensibilisation aux enjeux autochtones et d’améliorer la compétence culturelle de notre personnel et de notre conseil d’administration
  • Nous adhérons à l’approche à double perspective Two-Eyed Seeing, un cadre théorique qui reconnaît et qui considère de manière égale les perspectives autochtones et non autochtones sur la santé et le savoir
  • Nous nous sommes engagés à travailler en partenariat continu avec les peuples autochtones, à les consulter et à suivre leur exemple lorsque nous œuvrons dans leurs territoires et auprès de leurs communautés

CATIE a mis l’accent sur la réconciliation, dans ses réflexions et ses actions de ces dernières années. Nous continuerons d’utiliser notre influence et notre leadership afin de promouvoir ces valeurs auprès des communautés que nous servons.